As one chapter ends, another one begins!

After six years of university (one part-time), two universities, a year out and umpteen health related hurdles I have finally completed my undergraduate legal studies.  On Tuesday, I found out that I had passed my dissertation and my one remaining module.  This afternoon I found out that I have been awarded a Bachelor of Laws with Honours (Second Class, Upper Division).  It’s been a hard slog and not been without its stress, but I’ve done it!

Fourth year has been a truly exciting year having participated in the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition along with four other fourth year Stirling law students and written my dissertation (looking at whether Scotland should adopt a codified system for the criminal law).  I gained a top-end 2:1 for my dissertation, which I was really pleased about.  I’m figuring out what I could do with my dissertation so it doesn’t just gather dust on a shelf somewhere!

My graduation ceremony will take place on Wednesday 26 June 2013 at the University of Stirling and I can’t wait.

I’m waiting to hear from the University of Strathclyde as to whether I have been successful in obtaining a place on the Diploma in Professional Legal Practice.  That won’t be until July so right now is just about enjoying not having any academic work to undertake.

Hopefully, I’ll have the time to blog about my experiences on the Diploma here (unlike with most of the last two years of my undergraduate degree!).

3 Comments

Filed under Semester 8, The Future, University

3 responses to “As one chapter ends, another one begins!

  1. Well done – that’s a great result! 🙂

  2. Robin McNaught

    Going to study the LLB (Hons) at Stirling in September. Any tips for me to get ahead or any general comments about the Stirling LLB? P.S. congrats on your graduation

    • Alistair Sloan

      The LLB, regardless of where it is studies, is a demanding course which requires a lot of hard work and decdication to do well in. Be prepared to put the work in and it will pay off. Unlike many other courses, your grades on the LLB are generally important from day 1 if you plan on entering the legal profession, so bear that in mind.

      The academic staff are really friendly and helpful, and always willing to answer any questions you have. If you’re not getting something, then ask the lecturer after the lecture, during (or at the end of a tutorial) or by E-mail.

      The academic staff will tell you that tutorial preperation, attendence and participation is important. Listen to them, it is. The work you do in tutorials will often crop up in one form or another in the end of semester examination. You’d be putting yourself at a great disadvantage if you don’t do the work, turn up and participate.

      Above all, enjoy it. You’ve hot four years of hard work ahead so make the most of the time off you get. Enjoy your summer and don’t think about what you could read to ease you in; you’ll need all the energy you can get for the first semester. Oh and enjoy the 8 week Chirstmas break (just don’t fail any exams othewise part of your 8 weeks off goes over to revising for and doing re-sit exams!)

Leave a Reply

